ASOPRS Research Award Winners



David B. Samimi, MD for the paper:

"Microbiologic Trends and Biofilm Growth on Explanted Periorbital Biomaterials:

A 30 Year Review"

Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. 29(5): 376-381, September/October 2013.


Jerry A. Shields, MD for the paper:

"American Joint Committee on Cancer (AJCC) Clinical Classification Predicts Conjunctival Melanoma Outcomes"
Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. 28(5):313-323, September/October 2012.


2012 Edward Wladis, MD, FACS  for the paper:

"Molecular Biologic Assessment of Cutaneous Specimens of Ocular Rosacea"

Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. 28(4):246-250 July/August 2012.


2011 Navdeep Nijhawan, MD, FRCSC  for the paper:

"Lymphatic Drainage Patterns of the Human Eyelid"

Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. 26.4:281-285 2010.


2010 Bobby Korn, MD, PhD  for the paper:

"Identification and Characterization of Adult Stem Cells From Human Orbital

Adipose Tissue"


2009 John Linberg, MD and Albert Dal Canto, MD, PhD  for the paper:

"Comparison of Orbital Fracture Repair Performed Within 14 Days Versus 15 to

29 Days After Trauma"


2008 Jeremiah Tao, MD and William Nunery, MD   for the paper:

"Medical Canthal Open Nasal Fracture Repair"


2007 Peter Dolman, MD  for the paper:

"Visa Classification for Graves Orbitopathy"


2006 Durairaj VD, Bartley GB, Garrity JA.  for the paper:

"Clinical Features and Treatment of Graves' Ophthalmopathy in Pediatric Patients"


2005    Louise A. Mawn, MD


2004    Malena Amato, MD


2003     Scot Sullivan, MD


2002     Kimberly P. Cockerham, MD


2001     Mark Alford, MD, Jeffrey Nerad, MD and Keith Carter, MD


2000     Jorge G. Camara, MD


1999     Bita Esmaeli, MD


1998     Morris E. Hartstein, MD


1997     Jonathan Dutton, MD


1996     Don O. Kikkawa, MD


1995     William R. Nunery, MD


1994      Not Given


1993      Not Given


1992      Not Given


1991      Mark A. Cepela, MD


1990      Not Given


1989      Victor M. Elner, MD


1988       Not Given


1987       Not Given


1986       John J. Woog, MD


1985       Not Given


1984       Not Given


1983       Stephen G. Slade, MD


1982       Russell Gonnering, MD


1981       Elaine L. Chuang, MD


Follow Us:Follow Us On Facebook Follow Us On Twitter
Members Only Content


2016 Spring
Scientific Symposium

June 2-5, 2016
Ojai, California